WhatsApp has introduced a big feature on its messaging app that allows you to ‘unsend’ and delete messages.
Just how many times you have fired away a WhatsApp message only to be struck by that sudden, frightening thought : ‘I actually shouldn’t have sent that’. Well finally there’s a solution.
After weeks of advancement WhatsApp have started rolling out the Erase for Everyone characteristic, which allows one to recall messages after you have sent all of them. This pertains to text messages, gifs, video, pictures… pretty much whatever you can send out on WhatsApp, however it should be done within eight minutes of sending the message.
How to recall text messages on WhatsApp The very much anticipated feature is easy to use. Simply highlight the message you wish you didn’t send, select Erase from the menu and then hit Delete for Eveyone. It is only available to certain users at the moment and only on the latest version of WhatsApp, so visit the App-store and down load all those improvements you’ve been continually putting off.
WhatsApp say the feature will be beneficial if your message ‘contains a mistake’, yet we all know the brand new feature will surely have 3 functions:
1 ) Damage control when you unintentionally post a message to the group chat slagging someone away.
2 . Allowing you to backtrack from a risky message to someone you’re flirting with.
3. The final line of protection is when you inadvertently send a message about previous weekend’s illicit behaviour on your mother.
However , the people you are messaging can still view the message before you erase it (WhatsApp can’t erase things from people’s minds, after all), and even if you manage to recall a message before the other person returns to their phone, they are going to see ‘This message was deleted’.
WhatsApp will also inform you if the recall wasn’t successful, just so you know if you need to send a grovelling apology message or perhaps not.